Board of Directors

GBRA is governed by a board of nine directors appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Texas Senate. Each director serves a six-year term, with three directors appointed or reappointed every two years. Prior to each regular monthly meeting, board committees meet to recommend and review policies, programs and actions for consideration. The General Manager and staff conduct management and administrative duties in accordance with policies established by the board.

Rusty Brockman

Rusty Brockman, Chair

Comal County, Economic Development
Appointed: 2011

Brockman of New Braunfels, is director of economic development for the Greater New Braunfels Chamber of Commerce Inc. He is vice-chair of the Texas Economic Development Council, economic development committee chair of the Austin/San Antonio IH-35 Corridor Council, a life member of the Texas Parent/Teacher Association, and a member of the International Economic Development Council. Brockman is also director and past president of the New Braunfels Breakfast Lions.

He received a bachelor's degree from the University of Houston, a teaching certification from the University of Houston at Clear Lake, and a master's degree in education and a professional administrator certification from Stephen F. Austin State University. Brockman is appointed for a term to expire Feb. 1, 2017.

Dennis L. Patillo

Dennis L. Patillo, Vice-Chair

Victoria County, Title Services
Appointed: 2011

Patillo of Victoria, is president of Stewart Title of the Coastal Bend, Inc. He is vice-chair of the Victoria Economic Development Council, infrastructure chair of Crossroads Commission on Education, and a board member of DeTar Healthcare System.

Patillo is past board chair of the Texas and Houston associations of Realtors, a former board member of the National Association of Realtors and Victoria Country Club, and a past member of the Texas Tax Reform Commission and University of Houston Commission on Downward Expansion. He received a bachelor's degree from the University of Houston. Patillo is appointed for a term to expire Feb. 1, 2021.

Don Meador

Don Meador, Secretary/Treasurer

Hays County
Appointed: 2013

Meador of San Marcos is a retired rancher and engineer and will represent Hays County. He is a past member of the Texas and Southwestern Cattle Raisers Association and American Angus Association, and a past board member of the Texas Angus Association. He is past president of the Hays County Farm Bureau, past board vice chair of the Hays County Water Conservation District, and a former commissioner of the City of Coppell Planning and Zoning Commission. He served in the U.S. Army. Meador received a bachelor's degree from Texas Tech University and a master's degree in industrial engineering from Oklahoma State University.

William Carbonara

William Carbonara, Director

DeWitt County
Appointed: 2013

Carbonara of Cuero is an account executive at JHC Insurance Agency and will represent DeWitt County. He is a board member and treasurer of the Cuero Development Corporation, and a member and past board member of the Cuero Rotary Club. He is a past board member and past treasurer of the Cuero Chamber of Commerce Agriculture and Visitors Center, and a past board member of Visionaries in Preservation. He is also a board member and treasurer of the Cuero Area Soccer Association and Cuero Little Dribblers, and a member of the St. Michael's Catholic Church and Parish Advisory Council. Carbonara received a bachelor's degree and a Master of Business Administration from the University of the Incarnate Word.

Oscar H. Fogle

Oscar H. Fogle, Director

Caldwell County, Wildlife Management
Reappointed: 2011

Fogle of Lockhart, is owner of Oak Hill Ranch and a retired employee of Exxon Corp. He is a trustee for the Texas A&M University-Kingsville Foundation and Guadalupe-Blanco River Trust, chairman of the Caldwell County Appraisal District Agricultural Advisory Board, and director of Envision Central Texas.

He is a past director of Polonia Water Supply Corporation, and a past member of the Caldwell Appraisal Review Board, Plum Creek Watershed Partnership Steering Committee and Lockhart Community Theater Board. Fogle served in the U.S. Air Force and attended Texas A&M University-Kingsville. He was reappointed in 2011 for a term to expire Feb. 1, 2017.

Ronald J. Hermes

Ronald J. "Ron" Hermes, Director

Guadalupe County, Physics Teacher
Appointed: 2016

Hermes, a resident of Seguin, teaches physics at Marion High School. He is a member of the Private Schools Interscholastic Association State Board of Directors and serves as secretary of Citizens United for Lake Placid (CULP). Additionally, Hermes works with the Christian Youth Theater and is a lector at St. James Catholic Church.

Hermes earned a bachelor of education degree from The University of Texas at Austin and his master’s degree in human performance from the University of Houston at Clear Lake.

Thomas Mathews II

Thomas Mathews II, Director

Kendall County, Environmental Services
Appointed: 2011

Mathews of Boerne, is president of Westward Environmental, Inc. He is a member of the National Registry of Environmental Professionals, Texas Board of Professional Geoscientists, Associated General Contractors of Texas, and Texas Hot Mix Asphalt Pavement Association, and president of the Cow Creek Groundwater Conservation District.

Mathews is past board chair of the Allied Division of the Texas Aggregate and Concrete Association, and a past board member and past secretary of the National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association. He is also past president of the Hill Country Alliance of Groundwater Conservation Districts, past citizen representative of the Lower Guadalupe River Water Supply Project Advisory Forum, and past board secretary of the Winston School San Antonio Board. Mathews received a bachelor's degree from Trinity University. Mathews is appointed for a term to expire Feb. 1, 2021.

Kenneth A. Motl

Kenneth A. Motl, DVM, Director

Calhoun County, Veterinarian
Appointed: 2013

Born and raised in Victoria, Texas, Motl attended Texas A&M University in College Station where he earned his bachelor’s degree in biomedical science in 1986 and doctor of veterinary medicine degree in 1990. In 1995, Motl opened Bayfront Animal Hospital in Port Lavaca, where he provides treatment to small and large animals. His special interest is in beef cattle production. Motl proudly sponsors a variety of activities in his community, and in particular, supports youth at local stock shows. Motl and his wife, Gay Lynn, reside in Port Lavaca, Texas.

© 1998 Guadalupe-Blanco River Authority

Home | Contact Us

Like "GBRA of Texas" on Facebook

Follow @GBRATX on Twitter

Follow @GBRATX on Instagram

GBRA Social Media Comments Guidelines